Which Of The Following Bone Is Part Of The Axial Skeleton?

What are the two divisions of skeleton?

The adult human skeleton usually consists of 206 named bones.

These bones can be grouped in two divisions: axial skeleton and appendicular skeleton.

The 80 bones of the axial skeleton form the vertical axis of the body.

They include the bones of the head, vertebral column, ribs and breastbone or sternum..

What does the axial skeleton do?

The function of the axial skeleton is to provide support and protection for the brain, the spinal cord, and the organs in the ventral body cavity. It provides a surface for the attachment of muscles that move the head, neck, and trunk, performs respiratory movements, and stabilizes parts of the appendicular skeleton.

What are the three components of the axial skeleton?

The axial skeleton is the part of the skeleton that consists of the bones of the head and trunk of a vertebrate animal, including humans. The primary divisions of the skeleton system are the head, thorax, and vertebral column. The human cranium supports the structures of the face and forms the brain cavity.

What are the 22 skull bones?

The skull (22 bones) is divisible into two parts: (1) the cranium, which lodges and protects the brain, consists of eight bones (Occipital, Two Parietals, Frontal, Two Temporals, Sphenoidal, Ethmoidal) and the skeleton of the face, of fourteen (Two Nasals, Two Maxillae, Two Lacrimals, Two Zygomatics, Two Palatines, Two …

How many bones are there in axial skeleton?

80 bonesSEER Training: Axial Skeleton (80 bones)

How do we classify bones?

Bones can be classified according to their shapes. Long bones, such as the femur, are longer than they are wide. Short bones, such as the carpals, are approximately equal in length, width, and thickness. Flat bones are thin, but are often curved, such as the ribs.

Which is the largest longest and strongest bone in the body?

femur boneThe femur bone is the longest and strongest bone in the body. Located in the thigh, it spans the hip and knee joints and helps maintain upright posture by supporting the skeleton.

Which bone is not considered to be part of the cranium?

lacrimal boneWhich bone is NOT considered to be part of the cranium? The lacrimal bone is a tiny bone found in the medial portion of the orbit. It is a facial bone, not part of the cranium.

Is the pubis part of the axial skeleton?

The pelvic girdle is a ring of bones attached to the vertebral column that connects the bones of the lower limbs to the axial skeleton. The pelvic girdle consists of the right and left hip bones. Each hip bone is a large, flattened, and irregularly shaped fusion of three bones: the ilium, ischium, and pubis.

What are the names of the 206 bones?

Scapula.Clavicle.Humerus.Radius.Ulna.Scaphoid.Lunate.Triquetrum.More items…

Which of the following bones is part of the axial skeleton quizlet?

The axial skeleton consist of: the skull, hyoid bones, vertebral column, ribs, and sternum.

Which of the following bone is not part of the axial skeleton?

Which of the following is NOT part of the axial skeleton? Upper limbs are part of the appendicular skeleton, which is composed of the humerus, radius, and ulna. The humerus attaches to the pectoral girdle, which is composed of the scapula and clavicle. These attach to the axial skeleton at the sternum.

What are the 80 bones of the axial skeleton?

The axial skeleton consists of 80 bones:The skull, which contains 22 bones, from which 8 are cranial and 14 are facial,6 middle ear ossicles (3 in each ear),1 hyoid bone in the neck,26 bones of vertebral column,1 chest bone (sternum), and.24 ribs (12 pairs).

What are the parts of a skeleton?

These are (1) the axial, comprising the vertebral column—the spine—and much of the skull, and (2) the appendicular, to which the pelvic (hip) and pectoral (shoulder) girdles and the bones and cartilages of the limbs belong.

Which bones form the acetabulum quizlet?

ilium. ischium. pubis.